An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

News Search

  • America’s Airlift Wing holds inaugural AIM Wing event

    The 62nd Airlift Wing partnered with the Red-Tailed Hawks Flying Club, a local STEM aviation program sponsored by the Black Pilots of America, to hold the first-ever Aviation Inspiration and Mentorship (AIM) Wing event at Joint Base Lewis-McChord, Washington, April 16.With its recent designation as

  • Team McChord kicks off AFAF for 2022

     The AFAF is an annual effort to raise funds for the charities that provide support to Air Force families in need including active duty, retirees, reservists, guard and dependents, including surviving spouses. Team McChord’s donation goal this year is $43,540.“The Air Force Assistance Fund is the

  • 62nd AW Safety Office wins 2021 AMC Safety Office of the Year

    The 62d Airlift Wing (62 AW), Joint Base Lewis-McChord, WA, led by Col David A. Fazenbaker, has been awarded the 2021 Air Mobility Command (AMC) Safety Office of the Year recognition.The 62 AW ensured no major mishaps while directing the flight safety for 2,500 missions transporting 80,000 tons of

  • WWII pilot celebrates 100th birthday with visit from 62nd OG commander

    Just more than 50 miles north of Joint Base Lewis-McChord is the picturesque city of Shoreline, Washington. On a street lined with cherry blossom trees, an apartment building holds much history within its walls. Not because of what is there; but because of whom.On March 25, U.S. Air Force Col.

  • Team McChord hosts Women in Aviation Panel

    Retired U.S. Air Force Col. Peggy Phillips, Retired Lt. Col. Kimberly Ford, Ms. Laina Reeves and Maj. Courtney Vidt, sit on a Women in Aviation Panel at Joint Base Lewis-McChord, Washington, March 28, 2022. The panel shared their personal experiences as women in a male-dominated career field in

  • 62nd AW completes Rainier War

    The 62nd Airlift Wing successfully completed Exercise Rainier War 22A and demonstrated the ability to survive, operate, and win against a global competitor.Rainier War is a semi-annual exercise led by the 62nd AW designed to train Airmen under realistic scenarios that support Full Spectrum Readiness

  • 62 AW continues to soar in Rainier War 22A

    U.S. Air Force Capt. Ben Basham, left, and Capt. Dan Wold, both pilots with the 8th Airlift Squadron, fly a low-level simulated airdrop in a C-17 Globemaster III for Exercise Rainier War 22A at Joint Base Elmendorf-Richardson, Alaska, March 23, 2022. Rainier War is a semi-annual, large readiness

  • 62 AW takes to the sky in Exercise Rainier War 22A

    A C-17 Globemaster III assigned to Joint Base Lewis-McChord, Washington, takes off from a runway during Exercise Rainer War 22A at Joint Base Elmendorf-Richardson, Alaska, March 18, 2022. The exercise is designed to demonstrate the wing’s ability to operate and survive while defeating challenges to