62nd, 446th Airlift Wings support science through Operation DEEP FREEZE

Denoted are the three U.S. year-round research stations; McMurdo Station located on Ross Island,; Amundsen-Scott South Pole Station, at the geographic South Pole; and Palmer Station on Anvers Island in the Antarctic Peninsula region. Without interruption since 1956, Americans have been studying the Antarctic and its interactions with the rest of the planet. These investigators and supporting personnel make up the U.S. Antarctic Program. (Courtesy Graphic)

PHOTO BY: Courtesy Photo
VIRIN: 171214-F-XX000-028.JPG
Additional Details

No camera details available.


Read More

This photograph is considered public domain and has been cleared for release. If you would like to republish please give the photographer appropriate credit. Further, any commercial or non-commercial use of this photograph or any other DoD image must be made in compliance with guidance found at https://www.dimoc.mil/resources/limitations, which pertains to intellectual property restrictions (e.g., copyright and trademark, including the use of official emblems, insignia, names and slogans), warnings regarding use of images of identifiable personnel, appearance of endorsement, and related matters.